Wheaton Student-Athletes Well Represented At Honors Convocation Awards Ceremony

Wheaton Student-Athletes Well Represented At Honors Convocation Awards Ceremony

Jensen named Linda F. Epstein Award winner

NORTON, Mass. – The Wheaton College Athletics Department was well represented at the College’s Honors Convocation Awards Ceremony last week on Thursday, May 2 as eight-student athletes and one department representative earned awards.

Senior Eric Jensen (Gorham, N.H./Gorham) of the baseball team garnered the Jean Mulcahy Keefe ’44 Prize in Economics and the Linda F. Epstein ’82 Award. Jensen received the Linda F. Epstein ’82 Award for embodying respect for and commitment to the traditions of Wheaton College in the achievement of academic excellence and dedicated performance in athletics.

David LeBlanc ’13, who recently earned the Claudia Friese Special Recognition Award which recognizes behind-the-scenes dedication to the athletic program, collected the Sally Gale Gilman Award. LeBlanc served the Wheaton College Athletics Department as the mascot at various home events, community service projects and Wheaton events on campus for four years.

The following student-athletes also received Honors Convocation Awards:

Christina Cannon ’13, Women’s Volleyball

Mariam F. Carpenter Prize in Art

Kristen Palmer ’13, Women’s Lacrosse

Clinton V. MacCoy Prize in Ecology

Ann Marie Brasacchio ’16, Synchronized Swimming

CRC Press, Inc. Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award

Matthew Sexton ’14, Men’s Swimming & Diving

Undergraduate Award in Analytical Chemistry

Dennis Scarpa ’13, Men’s Tennis

Catherine Filene Prize in Economics

Caroline Isaacs ’13, Women’s Swimming & Diving

Banning-Ford Prize in Education

Tia Weise ’16, Women’s Soccer

Consulate General of the Federal Republic of Germany Award