Lyons match program record for conference wins with 3-1 victory at Smith

Lyons match program record for conference wins with 3-1 victory at Smith

NORTHAMPTON, Mass. - The Wheaton College field hockey team matched a program record for league wins following Saturday's 3-1 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) victory at Smith College.

Improving to 12-5 with two non-conference games to go, the Lyons wrapped up their conference slate at 6-2, securing the third seed in the upcoming NEWMAC Tournament that begins on Tuesday, November 2.  Wheaton will host the sixth-seeded team, which has yet to be determined.  With the loss, Smith falls to 4-10 and 0-7.

Junior Aliza Underhill (Corinth, Maine/Central) put the Lyons on the board early with a penalty stroke 6:59 into the opening half for her ninth tally of the fall, while freshman Eliza Kennedy's (Madison, Conn./Tabor Academy) first collegiate goal went down as the winner not even five minutes into the second stanza.  Kennedy's goal came off a penalty corner, with senior Margaux Bolte (Belmont, Mass./Belmont) earning the assist.

Freshman Jenna Rocha (Rehoboth, Mass./Dighton-Rehoboth Regional) provided the Lyons with some insurance thanks to her unassisted tally at the 52:07 mark, while freshman goalie Ellie Massengill (Amherst, Mass./Amherst Regional) turned aside eight shots in picking up her 10th victory of the season.

Junior Rebecca Rosen (Harrington Park, N.J./Northern Valley) scored Smith's lone goal 2:33 before halftime, and freshman keeper Savannah Lawson (Vineyard Haven, Mass./Martha's Vineyard Regional) notched nine saves.

The visitors outshot the Pioneers by a 15-10 margin, including taking 10 of the second half's 12 shots, while holding a 13-5 advantage on corners.

Wheaton finishes its regular season in upstate New York next weekend.  The Lyons take on nationally-ranked Skidmore College on Saturday at 1:00 p.m. before facing Union College the next day at 2:00 p.m.  Skidmore is ranked seventh in the country according to the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA).