Lyons Shut Down Pride, 9-0

Lyons Shut Down Pride, 9-0

Wheaton improves to 1-2 in NEWMAC play

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The Wheaton College men's tennis team shut out Springfield College, 9-0, in a New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) match this afternoon at the Appleton Tennis Courts.

At No.1 doubles, freshmen Jonah Feit (Los Angeles, Calif./Milken Community) and Will White (Nantucket, Mass./Cape Cod Academy) defeated Springfield sophomore Kyle Mersereau (Brunswick, Maine/Brunswick) and senior Benjamin Burnap (Westerly, R.I./Westerly) 9-7. Feit also turned in a 6-1, 2-6, 10-5 victory over Mersereau at No.1 singles while White beat Burnap, 6-2, 6-0 at No.2 singles.

Juniors Ned Terrace (Chappaqua, N.Y./Horace Greeley) and Dan Sharon (Santa Monica, Calif./Brentwood School) posted an 8-5 triumph against junior Joe Giannelli (Watertown, Conn./Holy Cross) and Alex Orban (Milford, Conn./Albertus Magnus) at No.2 doubles. Sharon and Giannelli matched up at No.3 singles with Sharon coming out victorious, 6-4, 2-6, 10-5.

At No.3 doubles, freshman David Gassen (Dusseldorf, Germany/Saddlebrook Prep) and senior Dennis Scarpa (Cheshire, Conn./Xavier) teamed up for an 8-3 win over senior Zac Goldstein (Shelton, Conn./Shelton) and freshman Matt Blomberg (Hingham, Mass./Hingham). Gassen also claimed a 6-1, 6-1 victory over Orban at No.4 singles while Scarpa defeated Blomgber, 6-0, 6-3 at No.6 singles.

Junior Sam Jackson (Darien, Conn./Darien) rounded out the list of winners for the Lyons at No.5 singles with a 6-2, 6-2 decision over Goldstein.

Wheaton (6-4, 1-2 NEWMAC) travels to St Anselm College, an NCAA Division II program, on Wednesday, April 10 at 3:30 p.m. Springfield (6-6, 0-3 NEWMAC) visits UMass Dartmouth for a non-conference match on Tuesday, April 9 at 3:30 p.m.

Wheaton 9, Springfield 0


1. Jonah Feit (WHE) def. Kyle Mersereau (SPR) 6-1, 2-6, 10-5

2. Will White (WHE) def. Benjamin Burnap (SPR) 6-2, 6-0

3. Dan Sharon (WHE) def. Joe Giannelli (SPR) 6-4, 2-6, 10-5

4. David Gassen (WHE) def. Alex Orban (SPR) 6-1, 6-1

5. Sam Jackson (WHE) def. Zac Goldstein (SPR) 6-2, 6-2

6. Dennis Scarpa (WHE) def. Matt Blomberg (SPR) 6-0, 6-3


1. Jonah Feit/Will White (WHE) def. Kyle Mersereau/Benjamin Burnap (SPR) 9-7

2. Ned Terrace/Dan Sharon (WHE) def. Joe Giannelli/Alex Orban (SPR) 8-5

3. David Gassen/Dennis Scarpa (WHE) def. Zac Goldstein/Matt Blomberg (SPR) 8-3