NEWMAC TOURNAMENT: Men’s Tennis Preview

NEWMAC TOURNAMENT: Men’s Tennis Preview

Fourth-seeded Lyons to play first-seeded MIT in semis

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Fourth-seeded Wheaton College will travel to play first-seeded MIT in the semifinal round of the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Men's Tennis Tournament on Saturday, April 27 at noon at the DuPont Tennis Courts.

Wheaton (10-6, 2-3 NEWMAC) had its three-game winning streak snapped on Thursday as the Lyons fell to regionally ranked Nichols by a 6-3 score. MIT, ranked no.20 overall in the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) national poll, compiled a perfect 5-0 record in conference play.

The Engineers defeated Wheaton earlier this season by an 8-1 decision in Norton, Mass. on Saturday, March 30. Freshman Jonah Feit (Los Angeles, Calif./Milken Community) claimed the Lyons only win of the match as he defeated  MIT junior Edwin Zhang (Falls Church, Va./Thomas Jefferson HS for Science and Tech), who was ranked no.6 overall in the Northeast Regional rankings at the time, by a score of 3-6, 6-2 and 10-8 at No.1 singles.

Feit is 12-7 overall this season including a 10-6 mark at No.1 singles. In conference play, Feit is 3-2 overall in No.1 singles play. Classmate Will White (Nantucket, Mass./Cape Cod Academy) is 10-9 overall, 6-2 at No.2 singles and 2-2 in conference play. The tandem is 8-8 overall in doubles including an 8-7 mark at No.1.

Junior Dan Sharon (Santa Monica, Calif./Brentwood School) enters this weekend's match with a 13-4 record overall and 6-3 showing at No.3 singles. In conference play, Sharon is 2-3 overall playing between No.3 and No.4 singles. Senior Dennis Scarpa (Cheshire, Conn./Xavier) has posted a 10-5 record overall and 3-2 mark in NEWMAC matches. Scarpa is 5-1 at No.5 singles and 5-4 at No.6 singles.

2013 NEWMAC Men's Tennis Championship:

(hosted by MIT)

Semifinal Round:

            #1 MIT vs. #4 Wheaton, Noon

            #3 Clark vs. #2 Babson, 3:00 PM

Final Round:

            Match 1 winner vs. Match 2 winner, 1 PM