Lyons women's lacrosse honored by IWLCA

NORTON, Mass. - The Wheaton College women's lacrosse team was one of 71 Division III institutions named to the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) Academic Squad.

The Lyons were one of 16 New England institutions and four New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) schools recognized by the IWCLA, joining Mount Holyoke, Springfield, and Wellesley.

In order to be considered for the squad, a team must possess a team grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 or higher. In 2011, the Lyons placed three student-athletes on the NEWMAC All-Academic Team - senior Hailey Colburn (Concord, N.H./Concord), junior Sabrina Fiori (Newton, Mass./Beaver Country Day School), and sophomore Kristen Palmer (East Dorset, Vt./Burr and Burton Academy).

The Lyons finished the 2011 season with a 7-12 record (3-3 NEWMAC) and advanced to the NEWMAC Semifinal following a 10-5 win over Wellesley in the Quarterfinals.