Wheaton falls to Springfield, Keene State

Wheaton falls to Springfield, Keene State

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The Wheaton College men's and women's swimming and diving teams were defeated by Springfield College and Keene State Saturday afternoon at the Art Linkletter Natatorium. The men were defeated 237-63 by the Pride and 202-96 by the Owls while the women fell 243-55 to the Pride and 213-71 to the Owls.

Sophomore Charlie Maier (Sudbury, Mass./Lincoln-Sudbury Regional) had the best finish for either side as he took second in the 3 mtr dive. He also finished fourth in the 3 mtr dive.

Freshman Richard Jenkins (Bow, N.H./Bow) grabbed third in both the 100-and-200 meter backstroke for the men while sophomore Emerson Jenkins (Kansas City, Mo./Pembroke Hill School) was fifth in both the 50-and-100 meter free.

Senior Christian Woods (Claremont, Calif./Webb School of California) took fourth in the 1,000-yard free and fifth in the 500-yard free events. Classmate Devon Best (Brentwood, Tenn./Ravenwood) placed fifth in both the 100-and-200 yard backstroke.

On the women's side, sophomore Nina Lanctot (Chatham, Mass.) posted the highest finish of the afternoon for the women as she placed third in the 200-yard breaststroke. Junior Dana Auger (Milford, Mass./Milford) took fourth in the 100-yard backstroke while senior Alexandra Wilson (Suffield, Conn./Suffield) placed fifth in both the 1 mtr dive and 3 mtr dive events. Senior Taryn Brosnan (Westford, Mass./Academy of Notre Dame) was fifth in both the 100-and-200 meter butterfly.

The men's 200-yard freestyle relay team of E. Jenkins, junior Sam Neill (Ludlow, Mass./Belchertown), sophomore Sam Jackson (Darien, Conn./Darien), and freshman Ben Oliveri (Glastonbury, Conn./Glastonbury) placed third. The women's 200-yard free relay squad of Brosnan, senior Sarah Miller (Madison, N.J./Madison), and freshmen Lauren Naruse (Maui, Hawaii/Seabury Hall) and Callie Renfrew (Vacaville, Calif./Webb School of California) also finished third.

The Lyons return to action on December 2 when they travel to Cambridge to compete at the MIT Invitational.