Three Lyons set school records on day one of competition at NEWMAC Championship

Three Lyons set school records on day one of competition at NEWMAC Championship

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The Wheaton College women's swimming & diving team was fifth and the men's team was seventh after day one of competition at the 2012 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Swimming & Diving Championship at MIT.

The fireworks for the Lyons began during the morning session as junior Caroline Isaacs (San Jose, Calif./Archbishop Mitty) and freshman Nick Fredette (Stoneham, Mass./Stoneham) each broke school records during the preliminary round. Isaacs posted a time of 5:12.50 in the 500-yard free while Fredette finished the 200 IM in 1:58.10.

Sophomore Adrianne Madden (Falmouth, Maine/Falmouth) - who earlier in the day posted an NCAA provisional qualifying time of 23.79 in the 50-yard free - broke the school record in the event with a time of 23.70 - good for second-place. She also helped the 200-yard free relay team of juniors Dana Auger (Milford, Mass./Milford) and Elle Van Cott (Back Delmar, N.Y./Bethlehem Central), and freshman Cara Morris (Irvington, N.Y./Irvington) place third with a time of 1:37.55.

The evening session also saw Isaacs place fifth in the 500-yard free (5:12.90) and the 400-yard medley team of Van Cott, Madden, senior Taryn Brosnan (Westford, Mass./Academy of Notre Dame), and sophomore Nina Lanctot (Chatham, Mass.) place fourth (4:02.13).

On the men's side, the 200-yard medley team of juniors Griffin Hanley (Andover, Mass./North Andover) and Sam Neill (Ludlow, Mass./Belchertown) and sophomores Nick Oliveri (Glastonbury, Conn./Glastonbury) and Emerson Jenkins (Kansas City, Mo./Pembroke Hill School) finished sixth (1:27.19) while the 400-yard medley squad of Neill, Oliveri, Fredette and senior Devon Best (Brentwood, Tenn./Ravenwood) placed seventh (3:38.74).

In the 1 mtr dive competition, freshman Ben Oliveri (Glastonbury, Conn./Glastonbury) recorded a score of 311.85 to place ninth.

Both teams return to action tomorrow morning with competition beginning at 11 a.m.