NEWMAC Announces Women’s Tennis Tournament Seeds

NEWMAC Announces Women’s Tennis Tournament Seeds

BOSTON, Mass. – The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced seeds and pairings for the upcoming women's tennis championship on Saturday, following the conclusion of the regular season slate. MIT, which just completed its second straight unbeaten conference regular season at 8-0, will be the tournament's top seed when play gets underway on Wednesday, October 23.

As the top seed, the Engineers will receive a first round bye and advance to the semifinals along with host Wellesley College, which earned the second seed with a 7-1 league mark. Wellesley will host the semifinal and final rounds of the tournament on Saturday and Sunday, October 26-27.

At 6-2, Wheaton College will be the tournament's third seed and will host No. 6 Springfield College (3-5) in an opening round match on Wednesday, October 23. No. 4 Babson College (5-3) will also host a first round match welcoming No. 5 Mount Holyoke (4-4).

The first round winners will advance to the semifinals the following Saturday at Wellesley College. The semifinal winners will play for the 2013 NEWMAC title on Sunday, October 27 at 1:00 p.m.

A year ago, MIT collected its first conference crown since 2002 with a 5-0 victory over Wellesley.

2013 NEWMAC Women's Tennis Championship

Quarterfinals: Wednesday, October 23 at higher seed:

          #6 Springfield (3-5) at #3 Wheaton (6-2) - 3:00 p.m.

          #5 Mount Holyoke (4-4) at #4 Babson (5-3) - 3:00 p.m.

Semifinals: Saturday, October 26 Hosted by Wellesley College:

          Winner #4/5 Seed vs. #1 MIT (8-0) - 11:30 a.m.

          Winner #3/6 Seed vs. #2 Wellesley (7-1) - 3:00 p.m.

Championship: Sunday, October 27 Hosted by Wellesley College:

          Semifinal Winners - 1:00 p.m.

For the latest on Wheaton College Athletics, follow the Lyons via social media on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube.

Release courtesy of NEWMAC Sports Information