1983 Field Hockey Team
1983 Field Hockey Team
Induction Year: 2013
Class: Charter
Sport (s): Field Hockey

Photo Gallery / Induction Speech

The 1983 field hockey team holds claim to earning the first-ever NCAA Tournament berth in Wheaton College history, as the Lyons posted a 12-2-0 record to win a spot in the 16-team NCAA Tournament field that year. Wheaton defeated Salem State College, 2-0, in the opening round before falling to eventual national champion Trenton State College, now known as the College of New Jersey, finishing the year with a 13-3-0 mark. The Lyons’ 13 wins in 1983 still ranks tied for second all-time in program history. Yowell Hall of Fame inductee Janet Kelly ’86 played on this accomplished team, and teammate Maribeth Burke ’86 still ranks first all-time in career wins (35), shutouts (23) and GAA (1.09). 

Members of the varsity team include:

Kathleen Bannon     ’87     Hummelstown, Pa.
Margaret Beebe     ’87     Glencoe, Ill.
Lisa Blank     ’87     Hyannis, Mass.
Elsbeth Brown     ’85     Nantucket, Mass.
Lynn Brown     ’84     Sebago Lake, Maine
Maribeth Burke     ’87     Walpole, Mass.
Patricia Croston     ’85     Brunswick, Maine
Susanah Gardner     ’84  
    Newtown Square, Pa.
Jane Hamilton     '87     Freeport, Maine
Janet Kelly     ’86     Cheshire, Conn.
Nancy Lawlor    
    ’86     Babylon, N.Y.    
Paula Mcfarland     ’87     Walpole, Mass.
Therese Ross     ’86     Cataumet, Mass.
Eileen Salathe     ’87     South Sutton, N.H.
Kristen Sarles     ’87     Baltimore, Md.
Amy St. Cyr     ’87     West Yarmouth, Mass.
Sarah Jane Vokey     ’84     Concord, Mass.
Karen Wentling     ’87     Reading, Pa.
Sandra Yannone     ’86     Old Saybrook, Conn.

Head Coach: Debi Field