1999 Women's Indoor Track & Field Team
1999 Women's Indoor Track & Field Team
Induction Year: 2015
Class: 2nd
Sport (s): Track & Field

Photo Gallery / Induction Speech

The first-ever national championship team in Wheaton College history, the 1999 women's indoor track and field team scored 43 points to start an historical five-year national championship run in NCAA Division III women’s track and field history. Wheaton went on to win a total of eight titles between the indoor and outdoor seasons from 1999-2003 winning all five indoor NCAA championships during that stretch to become the first Division III team of either gender to capture five straight titles. Deshawnda Williams ’00 won the 400-meter dash crown in 1999 to highlight the championship squad, while the Lyons racked up 10 All-American honors total en route to the first-ever national title in Wheaton College history. Williams led the team with three All-American accolades, while Tenille Johnson ’01and Colleen Myrie ’01 earned two honors, and Amy Swanson ’99Beth Castagno ’00, and Angela Mullins ’00 claimed one All-America award each.

1999 Women’s Track & Field Indoor Roster

Susan Ardagna   ’02   Arlington, Mass.
Kendra Bullock   ’01   Berkley, Mass.
Colleen Burch   ’02   Leicester, Mass.
Beth Castagno   ’00   Glendora, N.J.
Shimera Daniels   ’02   Brentwood, N.Y.
Katherine DeGrandePre   ’01   Freeport, Maine
Megan Flaherty   ’02   Mattapoisett, Mass.
Kate Getz   ’02   Cumberland, Maine
Erin Green
  ’02   Lynn, Mass.
Danielle Huston   ’02   Plymouth, Mass.
Tenille Johnson   ’01   Baltimore, Md.
Linda Littlefield   ’02   Belfast, Maine
Jessie Maher   ’99   Poland, Maine
Meghan Marks   ’00   Boxford, Mass.
Jacqui Martinelli   ’02   Holliston, Mass.
Elizabeth Morrison
  ’02   Monroe, N.H.
Angela Mullins   ’00   Upper Montclair, N.J.
Colleen Myrie   ’01   Brooklyn, N.Y.
Amini Onowho   ’02   Mattapan, Mass.
Jennifer Pineo   ’00   Quincy, Mass.
Janna Sullivan   ’00   Guilford, Conn.
Amy Swanson   ’99   Warwick, R.I.
Kerry Teamey   ’02   Klamath Falls, Ore.
Lisa Wallin   ’01   Lebanon, N.H.
Deshawnda Williams   ’00   Philadelphia, Pa.
Niara Woods   ’02   Philadelphia, Pa.

Head Coach: Paul Souza | Assistant Coaches: Al Bashian, Art Conro, Allison Dupre, Scott Fickerson, Kristine Ruscetta