2000-03 Women's Track & Field
2000-03 Women's Track & Field
Induction Year: 2017
Class: 3rd
Sport (s): Track & Field

Photo Gallery / Induction Speech

Following in the footsteps of the 1999 women’s indoor track & field team, which was the first-ever national championship team in Wheaton College history, the Lyons went on to dominate the track & field world for the early part of the 2000’s. With the 1999 indoor championship secured, Wheaton went on to win a total of seven NCAA team titles between the indoor and outdoor seasons from 2000-2003, including all four indoor NCAA championships during that stretch, to become the first Division III track & field team of either gender to capture five straight titles overall. Additionally, the 2000 outdoor team would finish 3rd before winning three straight national championships from 2001-2003.   

As a team, the 2000-2003 Lyons earned 50 indoor All-America honors, while earning 64 All-America accolades in outdoor track. 12 different women would capture 25 individual national championships during that stretch at the indoor championships, while 12 women won 24 individual national champion honors during the outdoor seasons. Wheaton twice boasted the United States Track & Field Coaches Association Indoor Athletes of the Year in Deshawnda Williams (2000) and Shimera Daniels (2002), while Amber James earned the honor for her work outdoors in 2002, in addition to being named the Honda Award Finalist for Collegiate Woman of the Year. Two different women, Williams and Tenille Johnson, earned NEWMAC athlete of the year honors, while James, Tessa Donoghue and Aspen James were named NEWMAC Rookies of the Year during that time span.  

For his work at the helm, head coach Paul Souza was named the NEWMAC and USTCA New England Indoor Coach of the Year all four years and the USTCA National Coach of the Year in 2002.