J. William Fulbright Scholarships

Congress created the Fulbright Program in 1946 to foster mutual understanding among nations through educational and cultural exchanges. Senator J. William Fulbright, sponsor of the legislation, viewed scholarship as an alternative to armed conflict. Today, the Fulbright Program - the federal government's premier scholarship program, funded by an annual Congressional appropriation and contributions from other participating countries - allows Americans to study or conduct research in more than 100 nations.

Year Recipient Country of Study Sport
2000 Greg Bates '00 Uruguay Men's Soccer
2001 Andrea Christoforou '01 United Kingdom Women's Lacrosse, Softball
2001 Arnulfo DeLaCruz '00 Mexico Men's Basketball
2003 Laura Berman '03 Peru Women's Track & Field
2003 Emily Hyde '03 South Korea Women's Swimming & Diving
2004 Anna Kratky '04 South Korea Women's Volleyball
2005 John Heywood '05 Estonia Men's Cross Country
2009 Scott Clark '09 Argentina Men's Cross Country, Track & Field
2009 Megan O'Sadnick '09 Norway Women's Cross Country, Track & Field
2009 Blair Rossetti '09 Netherlands Men's Cross Country
2010 Stefana Albu '10 Germany Women's Tennis
2010 Katrina Hegeman '10 Slovak Republic Women's Cross Country
2014 Matthew Sexton '14 Poland Men's Swimming & Diving
2015 Emily Chick '14 Uruguay Field Hockey
2015 Kenzie Kuhn '15 Sweden Women's Basketball