Walmsley named Coach of the Year; Fogarty and Bruno Pick Up Second-Team Honors

Walmsley named Coach of the Year; Fogarty and Bruno Pick Up Second-Team Honors

BOSTON, Mass. - The Wheaton College men's basketball team had two athletes named to the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) All-Conference teams. Seniors Ryan Fogarty and Liam Bruno were both named to the NEWMAC second-team. Lyons head coach Brian Walmsley was also honored, being selected the 2018 Coach of the Year by his peers. 

Fogarty concluded the season playing in and starting all 26 games for Wheaton, where the co-captain ranked third in the NEWMAC with 17.9 points per game. The senior guard netted 465 points this season, breaking into the 1,000 point club, ending his career with 1,359 points. He recorded a career-high 34 point performance against MIT in the regular season. 

Bruno, a senior forward and co-captain, played in and started 26 games for the Lyons, finishing the season ranked fifth in the NEWMAC with 17.0 points per game. Bruno capped off a stellar season with a career-high 30 points against Coast Guard. He concludes the season with 443 points and ends his career with 826 total points. Bruno was also named to the 2017-18 NEWMAC All-Sportsmanship team.

Walmsley picks up the first ever NEWMAC Coach of the Year honor in program history after leading Wheaton to two wins over Babson College, the 2017 NCAA Division III National Champions, and the 2017-18 Regular Season Champions, the Pride of Springfield College.

Wheaton concluded the season with a 16-10 overall record and 8-6 conference standing.