Men's Lacrosse Ends Season at Springfield in NEWMAC Tournament

Men's Lacrosse Ends Season at Springfield in NEWMAC Tournament

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - The Wheaton College men's lacrosse team ended its 2016 campaign under first-year head coach Kyle Hart on Wednesday evening with a 17-3 loss to Springfield College in the opening round of the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference Tournament. 

The Lyons end the season with a 7-9 overall record, while the Pride, who have earned eight straight NCAA Championship berths, improve to 10-7 on the year. The NEWMAC Tournament appearance is the first for the Lyons under Hart and the teams second in a row. 

Wheaton took it straight to the Pride in the opening quarter, scoring back-to-back goals to take a 2-0 lead. Zachary Brode knocked in the first goal after taking a pass from Ryan Gjerset at the 13:02 mark. The goal came after a shot by Gjerset was saved and fell back to the junior, who reset the offense before finding Brode.  

Will Morrison and Brian Teague made it a 2-0 contest a little over a minute later after a caused turnover by Connor Donaghy led to a barrage of Lyon shots. 

The Pride responded with 17consecutive goals over the next four periods. Teague and Gjerset added one more goal before the end of the contest, netting the final goal of the game with just four seconds remaining. 

For the latest on Wheaton College Athletics, follow the Lyons via social media on Facebook, InstagramTwitter and YouTube.