Lyons even NEWMAC mark following 3-1 victory over Springfield

Lyons even NEWMAC mark following 3-1 victory over Springfield

NORTON, Mass.- The Wheaton College men's soccer team avenged last year's New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Tournament loss to Springfield College on Saturday, as the Lyons handed the Pride a 3-1 setback on Keefe Field while improving their series record against Springfield to 18-4-1.

A winner in two straight games, Wheaton is now 5-2 overall and 1-1 in league play, while Springfield slips to 1-7 and 0-2.

After each team fired off four shots through the first 19 minutes, the guests broke the stalemate with an unassisted tally from sophomore Joe LaBella (Wethersfield, Conn./Wethersfield) at 19:09.

Wheaton answered with a pair of strikes just 56 seconds apart in the 32nd minute.  Senior Will Nesbitt (Holliston, Mass./Holliston) headed home a corner kick offering from sophomore Luke Finkelstein (Peabody, Mass./Peabody) at 31:03 to knot the score at one.

Senior Federico Kelly (Hingham, Mass./Hingham) provided the Lyons with the game-winner at 31:59, when he and freshman teammate Stephan Nkom (Douala, Cameroon/Indian Springs School) successfully executed a 2-on-1 at the top of the box before Kelly found the back of the net for his first goal of the season.

The Lyons tacked on an insurance tally in the second half, as sophomore Ben Altneu (Orleans, Mass./Nauset Regional) sent a through ball to classmate Travis Blair (Hastings, N.Y./Hastings), who in turn scored his team-best fourth goal of the fall at 80:42.

In a game that saw four team saves, including two by each side, Lyon freshman goalie Matt Dickey (Newton, Mass./Northfield Mount Hermon School) earned the win after turning aside four Pride shots.  Springfield sophomore Brett Bascom (New London, N.H./Kearsarge Regional) made six saves.

Wheaton finished with advantages of 19-15 in shots and 8-1 in corner kicks.

The Lyons remain at home tomorrow afternoon for a non-conference contest against Colby-Sawyer College at 3:00 p.m.