Women's Lacrosse Overpowers Wellesley 20-4

Women's Lacrosse Overpowers Wellesley 20-4

SCORE: Wheaton 20 - Wellesley 4

RECORDS: Wheaton (5-6, 3-0 NEWMAC) - Wellesley (5-7, 1-3 NEWMAC)

LOCATION: Norton, Mass. (Diane C. Nordin '80 Field)


  • Junior Molly Covarrubias led all players on the night with a career-high six goals, two assists and seven won draw controls. Fellow classmate Lilly Callahan followed up with five goals and two assists while Kyra Schwartzman notched four goals and an assist, picking up a game-high five ground balls.  
  • Sophomore Darien Webb contributed two goals while Meg Sharick, Maggie Dymes, and Darien Webb rounded out the Lyons scoring with one goal apiece.
  • Ellie Chalphin led Wellesley with two goals and two ground balls while Carson Dennis, Mariana Hernandez, and Eleanor Mallett each contributed one in the Blue's loss. 
  • Wheaton got on the board first with Callahan converting a free position shot at 27:30. After going down a player at 22:41, Wellesley managed to find the back of the net just 34 seconds later to tie the game up at 1-1. After quick back to back goals from both sides, the Lyons started to find themselves slowly pulling away from the Blue as the half continued on. Callahan would finish out the scoring for the first half, netting a goal at 2:51 to put the Lyons ahead at 7-2 at intermission. 
  • The Lyons continued their momentum from the first half into the second, outscoring the Blue 13-3 over the course of thirty minutes to solidify their third New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) win while also preserving their conference unbeaten streak.  
  • Wheaton goalkeeper Jena Casman picked her fifth win of the year after coming up with 6 saves. 


  • Saves: Wheaton 6 / Wellesley 7
  • Ground Balls: Wheaton 25 / Wellesley 17
  • Clears: Wheaton 16-20 / Wellesley 9-17
  • Draw Controls: Wheaton 13 / Wellesley 13
  • Free Position Shots: Wheaton 4-5 / Wellesley 0-0
  • Shots: Wheaton 32 / Wellesley 14

UP NEXT: Wheaton returns to the road on Saturday, April 13, where they will take on the Pride of Springfield College at 1:00 p.m.