Five Earn CSCAA Scholar All-America Team Honors

Five Earn CSCAA Scholar All-America Team Honors

NORFOLK, Va. - The Wheaton College women's swimming & diving program had five athletes earn a spot on the College Swimming & Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) Scholar All-America Team. Representing the Lyons were Caitlin Daley, Aleza Epstein, Jenna Hayden and Eva Pet, with sophomore Maddy Morrison earned a spot on the honorable mention team.

The award recognizes students that have achieved a grade point average of 3.50 or higher and competed at their respective NCAA/NAIA/NJCAA Swimming and Diving Championships.  The selections, drawn from 181 colleges and universities across all Divisions. In addition to the 1,069 first-team selections, 1,137 students were named as Honorable Mentioned selections. These students have similarly achieved a GPA of 3.50 and achieved a "B" time standard or competed at an NCAA Regional or Zone Diving qualifier.  In total, 289 teams placed at least one individual on the First or Second teams.

The Lyons had one of its most successful NCAA Division III Swimming & Diving Championships in program history, with four separate athletes earning NCAA All-America Honorable Mention finishes. 

Hayden led the way with two individual honors, earning a ninth-place finish in the 100-yard backstroke (54.99) and 11th place finish in the 200-yard freestyle (1:50.36). The reigning two-time New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Women's Swimmer of the Year, was also a part of two relay teams that earned All-American Honorable Mention finishes. The women's 400-yard free relay finished 13th (3:27.77), while the 800-yard free relay team finished in a school record time of 7:34.29. 

Epstein and Daley also earned All-American honors as a part of both relays. 

Morrison finished 21st in the 2018 NCAA Division III Northeast-North Diving Regional.