DaCorte Named NEWMAC Swimmer of the Year; Women Finish Second

DaCorte Named NEWMAC Swimmer of the Year; Women Finish Second

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The Wheaton College women's swimming and diving team wrapped up the 2020 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) with a second-place finish with 887 points. 

The night was capped off by junior Lydia DaCorte being named the NEWMAC Women's Swimmer of the Year for the second consecutive year in a row. The junior, who was named the NEWMAC Rookie of the Year in 2018, followed by the swimmer of the year in 2019, concluded Sunday with a conference championship in the 1650 free after touching in 17:03.01. Kayleigh Foley also competed in the finals, finishing in fifth place, while Delia MacLaughlin took eighth.

Leah Shoulta finished fourth in the 200-yard backstroke after finishing in 2:08.59, while Chloe Deubner finished sixth (2:09.21), and Julia Centola took eighth. 

The 200 breaststroke saw first-year Madeline Eller take fifth place with a time of 2:26.74. The Lyons had four more swimmers finish in the top 10, starting with Maddi Curran, followed by Brooke CloutierCaroline Genther, and Erin Kean

Maddy Morrison finished the 1-meter dive in ninth place. 

The Lyons 400 free relay team of Hope Campbell, Deubner, Caitlin Daley, and DaCorte finished in fourth place with a finals time of 3:33.02.